top of page
Writer's pictureLizahn Jordaan

Making a quiet book

Updated: Aug 4, 2019


So my part-time kid recently turned one and I wanted to give her something special - so I decided to make her a quiet book. I had never done something like this, so I spent a lot of time on Pinterest looking for ideas. I found some great tips and ideas on there, and most of the ideas for the pages I made came from Pinterest.

The most important thing is to plan all your pages properly. I drew sketches of all the pages I wanted to make, and made a list of supplies I would need according to the sketches. I don't have a sewing machine, so I used felt glue and did hand sewing with embroidery thread.

Like I said, most of these pages I adapted from pictures on Pinterest, so I cannot take credit for all the ideas, but here is what I made:

Front and back cover: I actually made these last, using all the scraps from the other pages to make colourful dots and lines. Supplies used for these pages were only felt, felt glue and embroidery thread.

Page 1: I made the balloons double-layered and put velcro-dots on the back. I used felt glue to put them on, as their own glue was not strong enough. Supplies used: felt, felt glue, satin ribbon, velcro dots, embroidery thread.


Page 2: I used magnets on the back of the paws and also as eyes. I tried putting the magnets on the inside of the double-layer paws, but the magnets weren't strong enough to work through the felt. Materials used: felt, felt glue, magnets, embroidery thread.



Page 3&4: These are my favourite pages. I used a double layer of green felt with a circke cut out of the top layer. The door is also a double layer of grey felt with a circle cut out of an old plastic lid in between. I used a velcro dot to secure the door and added some buttons to look like knobs. The socks are also double layer, I cut out the heels and toes of the top layer and switched them out. I glued one sock of each pair to the page and used sew-on click fasteners for the others (I used regular thread for this). Materials used: felt, felt glue, plastic lid, velcro dots, satin ribbon, click-fasteners, thread, embroidery thread.



Page 5: I made the airplane by using two layers of felt, and putting wings through a slot cut in the top layer of the body. The ribbon goes between the two layers before they are glued together - being careful to not glue the ribbon as the plane should be able to slide up and down. I glued the ribbon to the edge of the page, and also secured it by sewing with normal thread. Materials used: felt, felt glue, satin ribbon, thread, embroidery thread.



Page 6: This one took quite a while, sewing all the grass on. I double-layered the flowers and used a craft knife to make the button-holes. I sewed the buttons on with normal thread. Materials used: felt, felt glue, buttons, thread, embroidery thread



Page 7: I knew I wanted to add a mirror, so as you can see in the first phase I had a square frame in mind. The only perspex mirrors I could find at the craft shop came in different shapes, so I chose the star-shaped one. I added some buttons for embellishment, and used different coloured embroidery thread to add some colour. A perspex-based mirror is also much safer than a glass mirror, as it wont shatter. Materials used: felt, felt glue, mirror, buttons, embroidery thread.



Page 8: I struggled a bit with this one. I planned on gluing a semi-circle of black felt onto the blue and just adding a zipper at the top, but realised that would not open up wide enough to actually put the cookies in. I ended up making a small semi-circle shaped bag and glued it on. The cookies are only single layer felt, as I wanted them to fit into the mouth-pouch. They have magnets on the back and I glued magnets to the page to keep them there. Materials used: felt,felt glue, zipper, magnets, thread, embroidery thread.


The best part is seeing my girl enjoy her book!

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page