top of page
Writer's pictureLizahn Jordaan

Working 9 to 5

I haven't written a post in quite a while, mostly because there hasn't been a lot happening over here. We've been settling in, getting some more furniture, and we got a car! Yay!





Meanwhile, I've been applying for quite a few teaching jobs. A while ago I had an interview which went okay, except for the math exam I had to write. I was not at all prepared for the content of the exam as they did not tell me what it would entail - turns out it was 90% math that I had last seen at university, which obviously did not go well. They ended up offering me a position for a grade 2 - 6 post, which I turned down (primary school is not really my cup of tea). Also, at that stage I was fairly confident that I would find something else.


So I applied to more jobs, and more jobs, and more jobs. And nothing. No responses - which has really been hard for me. I did not actually anticipate struggling to find a job. You know how people always say that math teachers will always have a job - turns out that's not necessarily true.


So for a while now I kept telling myself that I am trusting God and His plan. Only, I was pretty sure that His plan for me was to get a job as a teacher. So I am trusting Him to give me a teaching job - which, when you think about it, isn't really trusting GOD's plan. The whole thing was kind of planned out in my head - I would apply to jobs, even if I struggled to find one, I eventually would find the perfect school for me, all according to God's plan. So I've been waiting to write this post until I found a job, so I can tell you all about how good God is and that He provides for us.


Then I realised that that's just it - God IS good. Not because He provides me with the job I want, but even if He doesn't - He is still good. I was listening to a Shofarband song this morning, and the lyrics say:

We bring an offering of praise to You

Our circumstances don't determine what's due

So even if I don't find a job, I am still going to praise Him.


That's easier said than done - some days staying at home really sucks.

I really love teaching, and teaching math (at least the actual explaining part) is something I am good at, and I miss it.

But I know that God sent us here for a reason, and maybe right now I just need to be home. Or maybe I'll end up doing something completely different for a while. Or maybe I will find a job as a teacher. Whatever happens, I'm going to really try to trust God's plan and not make my own.

108 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 comentarios


Lizahn Jordaan
Lizahn Jordaan
13 ago 2018

Haha ek sal dit in gedagte hou 😉 dankie juf R! Hoop dit gaan goed ❤️

Me gusta

rethajansevr
13 ago 2018

Hallo Lizahn, ja ek stem saam ... jy is ‘n inspirasie! Ai, ons glo dat die regte pos op die regte tyd sál kom! Ek ken die gevoel om gefrustreerd te raak as mens voel jy kan méér doen as bloot ‘tuiswees’! Geniet egter die tydjie van rus en eie tyd hê, want voor jy weet, is jy terug in die rotteren / stofren😅 en dan wens mens vir die ek-tyd! Jy kan altyd by Pionier kom Wisk gee met jou moeder as kollega as die Dubaiers nie jou waarde raak sien nie😜 Liefde uit Vryeheid

Me gusta

Lizahn Jordaan
Lizahn Jordaan
13 ago 2018

Dankie Nadia!!

Me gusta

Nadia Redelinghuys
Nadia Redelinghuys
12 ago 2018

Lizahn, weereens inspireer jou post my so baie! En herinner my aan belangrike dinge, wanneer ek ook wonder oor Sy plan! Ons bid saam dat Sy plan aan julle geopenbaar sal word ❤️

Me gusta
bottom of page